On April 24, 2017 members of the Ste-Agathe Community Development Inc. were honoured as recipients of the Premier’s Volunteer Service Award 2017 under the community group category.

It was a great honour for the current Board of directors to receive this award but we would be remiss if we did not also recognize all those committee members who preceded us including the many, many volunteers.

To those volunteers who were directors on previous boards; to those who chose to chair these boards & committees; to the many who worked the canteen at our Cheyenne Summer Festival; to the volunteers who worked the registration table for the Ste-Agathe Charity Golf Tournament; to those who gave of their time to cut grass and plant seedlings in Cartier Recreational Park; to those who flooded the ice at the outdoor rink; to the many who assisted in our fight against the 1997 Flood of the century; to all of you, we owe you a huge debt of gratitude.

These are just a very few of the numerous tasks that many, many volunteers have completed over the years. We have been reminded through media over the past week that this was the 20th year anniversary of the devastation caused by the Flood of the Century. As a community we have shown resilience and perseverance and for that today we are stronger.

To all our community volunteers, we are very proud to share this award with you.

Claude Lemoine, chair CDI Ste-Agathe
Joël Gagnon
Alain Robert
Éveline Lévesque
Curtis Claydon
René de Moissac
Christie de Rocquigny